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EFFECTIVE JANUARY 2024 REGULATIONS REGARDING OPEN BURNING 

   Monroe Residents/Property Owner Applying for Open Burning Permits 

The office of the Fire Marshal issues or denies burning permits only after the following steps are adhered to: 

1.) Completion of the application form, printed by the Connecticut DEEP. 

2,) Payment of a $10.00 fee for such application/permit, (Cash or checks will be returned if application/permit 

denied) after burning official inspects burning site. 

3.) Inspection of the burning site by the Open Burning Official: The inspection may reveal a need for certain conditions 

to be met prior to approval. Ali conditions are the responsibility of the named applicant. 

Connecticut General Statutes, Section 22a-174 and the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies require the 
following general conditions: 

1.) Only brush less than 3" in diameter may be burned! 

2.) The permittee/applicant must reside on the property where burning is to take place. 

3.) Burning shall cease when directed by the Fire Marshal, or Fire Chief or their designees, or upon order of any 

official of the CT. DEEP. 

4.) Burning should be completed and attempts to reduce excessive smoke should be taken. 

5.) All safety precautions shall be taken. The area around the burning site/pile must be cleaned to prevent fire 

spread, wetting down the surrounding area may be required, and a water hose must be on site for control 

purposes. 

6.) The permit must immediately be available at the site during burning. 

7.) Burning shall only be conducted between the hours of 10:00am — 5:00pm on a sunny or partly sunny day 

with a wind of 5 — 15 mph. 

The Monroe Fire Marshal's Office sets as conditions of every permit: 

1.) Prior to burning the resident must call 203-261-3622 for a final verbal approval for the day. 

2.) An available water source must be on site. 

3.) The permittee MUST be onsite at all times when burning is occurring. 

4.)  Upon a complaint of neighbors concerning excessive smoke and/or odor burning will be ordered to cease 

immediately and alternative disposal methods must be found. 

READ YOUR PERMIT: Violation of conditions of Open Burning Permits or burning without a permit is subject to 
revocation of issued permits, forfeiture of the ability to obtain future permits and/or arrest for violation of 
Connecticut General Statute 229-174f. 


