

2023 Monroe, Connecticut Declaration of Personal Property

Filing Requirement – This declaration must be filed with the Assessor of the town where the personal property is located. Declarations of personal property shall be made annually.

If you no longer own the above noted business or personal property assessed in your name last year, you do not need to complete this declaration. You must, however, return this declaration to the Assessor and provide information related to the name of the new owner of the property or the date your business ceased or to where you moved the business (see *Affidavit below*). Otherwise, the Assessor must assume that you still own and are operating the business and have failed to declare your taxable personal property.

I	of		at
Business or property	y owners name	Business Name (if applicable)	Street location
With regards to sai	d business or property I do so certify	that on	Said business or property was (Please ⊠ appropriate box):
		Date	
SOLD TO:			
	Name		Address
MOVED TO:			
	City/Town and State to where business or p	roperty was moved	Address
TERMINATED:	Attach Bill of Sale or Letter of	of Dissolution to this form	and return it with this affidavit to the Assessor's office
The sign	ner is made aware that the penalty for	making a false affidavit is	a \$500.00 fine or imprisonment for one year or both.
		3	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Penalty for late filing – Failure to file timely will result in a penalty equal to 25% of the assessment of the personal property. This declaration must be filed or postmarked (as defined in C.G.S. Sec 1-2a & as referenced in Sec. 12-41(d)) no later than:

INSTRUCTIONS

As per CGS 12-63, the Assessor must determine the "present true and actual value" and in determining such value may use the accepted methods of comparable sales, cost less depreciation and income capitalization.

Not all sections are applicable to every business. Please read the following instructions and complete all relevant sections.

Who Should File --

All owners of taxable personal property.

Declaration -

- 1. Owners of:
 - a. Non-Connecticut registered motor vehicles
 - Horses, ponies and thoroughbreds
 - Mobile manufactured home -not assessed as real estate
- 2. Businesses, occupations, farmers, and professionals need to complete: (Commercial and cost information is not open to public inspection)
 - Business Data (page 3).
 - Lessee's Listing Report (page 4).
 - Disposal, Sale or Transfer of Property Report (page 4).
 - Taxable Property Information (pages 5-7).
 - Sign the Declaration of Personal Property Affidavit on
- 3. Lessors need to complete: (Commercial and cost information is not open to public inspection)
 - Business Data (page 3).
 - Lessor's Listing Report (page 3).
 - Disposal, Sale or Transfer of Property Report (page 4).
 - Taxable Property Information (pages 5-7).
 - Sign the Declaration of Personal Property Affidavit on page 8.

Filing Requirements -

- 1. The Personal Property Declaration must be filed annually on or before November 1 (or the Monday following if November 1 falls on Saturday or Sunday) (CGS §12-42).
- 2. A Personal Property Declaration not filed will result in a value determined by the Assessor from the best available information (CGS §12-53b).
- 3. Declarations filed with "same as last year" are INSUFFICIENT and shall be considered an incomplete declaration.
- 4. Pursuant to CGS 12-81(79) tangible personal property older than 10 years and with an original value of not more than \$250 is exempt. This exemption shall not be applied for the first ten full assessment years following the assessment year in which the property was acquired. Complete "Detailed Listing of Assets Orig Value ≤ \$250" report on Page 4. Also list total value of such exempt assets in "Reconciliation of Fixed Assets" box on Page 6.

Penalty of 25% is applied -

- 1. When no declaration is filed or a declaration is not signed, a 25% penalty is applied to the assessment. [See 2. under Filing Requirements.]
- 2. When declarations are submitted after November 1 [See 1. under Filing Requirements] and an extension has NOT been

- granted (see Extensions) a 25% penalty is applied to the assessment. Returns mailed in must have a postmark (as defined in C.G.S. Sec 1-2a) of November 1 [See 1. under Filing Requirements.] or before.
- When an extension is granted (see Extensions) and the declaration is not filed by the extension deadline, a 25% penalty is applied to the assessment.
- When omitted property is discovered, the 25% penalty is applied to the difference in the assessed value as determined by the results of the discovery and the assessment as determined by the originally filed declaration.

Exemptions-

- 1. On page 7, check the box adjacent to the exemption you are claiming.
- 2. **Note** that several exemptions require an additional application in order to receive that exemption. Please request the form number noted from the Assessor's Office. The Manufacturers Machinery & Equipment Exemption Claim form & its itemized lists for Code 13 property may be requested if not included with this declaration.
- The extension to file the Personal Property Declaration, if granted, may not apply to all required exemption applications and may require a late filing fee. Check with the Assessor.

Signature Required -

- 1. The owners shall sign the declaration (page 8).
- The owner's agent may sign the declaration. In which case the declaration must be duly sworn to or notarized.
- 3. Corporate officers signing for their corporations must have the returns properly sworn to or notarized; or provide the Assessor with a statement bearing the corporate seal and signed by the corporate secretary setting out the office held by the signer of the declaration and dates office held.

The Assessor may grant a filing extension for good cause (CGS §12-42 &12-81K). If a request for an extension is needed, you need to request the filing extension in writing on or before November 1, 2023 (PA 19-210).

Audit -

The Assessor is authorized to audit declarations, within 3 years of the date of the required filing. Substantial penalties are applicable if such an audit reveals property not declared as required by law (CGS §12-53).

Before Filing Make Copies of Completed Declaration for Your Records

#16 - Furniture, fixtures and equipment Assessor's How should the following be declared? June 2022, you bought a desk for \$800 and a chair for \$200. You have a filing cabinet and printer that you bought 10 years ago for \$2000 that is being used in your business.

Example of how to complete the tables on pages 5 and 6

See the table to the right for the answer.

Year Ending	Original cost, installation & transportation	% Good	Depreciated Value		Use Only
10-1-23		95%			
10-1-22	1000	90%	900		
10-1-21		80%			
10-1-20		70%			
10-1-19		60%			
10-1-18		50%			
10-1-17		40%			
Prior Yrs	2000	30%	600		
Total	3000	Total	1500	#16	1500

2023 Personal Property Declaration

Commercial and financial information is not open to public inspection

List or Account #: Owner's Name:			ssessment date Octo ed return date Novem		
DBA:					
Location (street & number)					
BUSINESS DATA For businesses, occur	pations, professions, farmers, lessors Answe	er all questions 1 through 12, writing N/A on	lines that are not applicable	4	
1. Direct questions	s concerning return to -	2. Location of accounting	g records -		
Name					
Address					
City/State/Zip					
Phone / Fax ()	/ ()		<u>/ ()</u>		
E 11					
3. Description of Business					
4. How many employees work in y	our facilities in this town only?				
5. Date your business began in the	is town?				
6. How many square feet does yo	ur firm occupy at your location(s) in t	this town?	Sq. ft. Own	. □ Le	ase 🗌
	oration Partnership LLC	·			
	facturer Wholesale Service				
		IRS Business Activ			
			· ·	Yes	No
	of the property included in this declar entify by specific months, code, cost		t town		
10. Are there any other business of If yes, give name and mailing a	perations that are operating from yound	ur address here in this town?			
11. Do you own tangible personal	property that is leased or consigned	to others in this town?	-		
If yes, complete Lessor's List					
If yes, complete Lessee's List					
LESSOR'S LISTING PEROPT IN	order to avoid duplication of assessment	to related to legged personal property, th	oo following must be some	loted by	,
	er conditional sales agreements must be				
	Lessee #1	Lessee #2	Lessee #3		
Name of Lessee					
Lessee's address					
Physical location of equipment					
Full equipment description					
s equipment self-manufactured?	Yes ☐ No ☐	Yes ☐ No ☐	Yes ☐ No		
Acquisition date					
Current commercial list price new					
Has this lease ever been purchased, assumed or assigned?	Yes □ No □	Yes □ No □	Yes ☐ No		
f yes, specify from whom					
Date of such purchase, etc.					
If original asset cost was changed by this transaction, give details.					
Type of lease	☐Operating ☐Capital ☐Conditional Sale	☐Operating ☐Capital ☐Conditional Sale	☐Operating ☐Capital ☐C	onditiona	al Sale
Lease Term – Begin and end dates					
Monthly contract rent					
Monthly maintenance costs if included n monthly payment above					
s equipment declared on the Lessor's or the Lessee's manufacturing exemption application?	Yes ☐ Lessor ☐ Lessee ☐	Yes ☐ Lessor ☐ Lessee ☐	Yes ☐ Lessor ☐	Lesse	е □

List or Account#:	-			Assessment d	ate October 1, 2023
Owner's Name:				Required return date	November 1, 2023
property not owned be herein prescribed, she possession and must Yes No Did you or yes, enter Did you a lif yes, inc	y you but in all result in to be reported dispose of a erra descript acquire any dicate previous of any of the sum of the	RT Pursuant to Connecticut General Statu your possession as of the assessment dat the presumption of ownership and subsequent includes (but is not limited to) dumpsters, my leased items that were in your possession of the property and the date of disposit of the leased items that were in your possessions lessor, item(s) and date(s) acquired in the equipment listed below declared anywhat the cost in the 'Acquisition Cost' row.	te must be included on this form. Fuent tax liability plus penalties. Progas/propane tanks, vending machion on October 1, 2022? If ion in the space to the right. ession on October 1, 2022? the space to the right.	ailure to declare, in the for operty you do not lease that innes, water coolers, coffee	m and manner as at may be in your a machines.
		Lease #1	Lease #2		ease #3
Name of Lessor					
Lessor's address					
Phone Number					
Lease Number					
Item description / Model #					
Serial #					
Year of manufacture					
Capital Lease		Yes ☐ No ☐	Yes ☐ No ☐	Yes	S No 🗆
Lease Term – Beginning/End					
Monthly rent					
Acquisition Cost					
Year/Code Included					
Disposal, sale or trans Of Disposed Assets R complete this declarat	sfer of prope eport And F ion. You m BUSINESS	NSFER OF PROPERTY REPORT erty – If you disposed of, sold or transferred Reconciliation Of Fixed Assets on page 6. ust, however, return to the Assessor this d FOUND in this return. DO NOT INCLUDE I AILED LISTING OF DISPOSED ASS Description o	If you no longer own the business eclaration along with the complete DISPOSALS IN TAXABLE PROPERTS COPY AND ATTACH ADDITIONAL COPY AND ATTACH ADDITIONAL COPY AND ATTACH ADDITIONAL COPY AND ATTACH ADDITIONAL COPY AND ATT	noted on the cover sheet AFFIDAVIT OF BUSINESS (ERTY REPORTING SECT	you do not need to CLOSING OR MOVE OF
		LISTING OF ASSETS ORIG VALU to CGS 12-81(79) – Listing of assets			
	ruisuant	Description of Item	purchased prior to 10/1/13 With	n an original value ≤ \$25 Date Acquired	Acquisition Cost
		·		•	
Tayanı E Docum	TV INSOS	4471011	,		

TAXABLE PROPERTY INFORMATION

- 1) All data reported should be:
 - a) Actual acquisition costs including any additional charges for transportation and installation by year for each type of property described. These costs, less the standard depreciation as shown on the form will determine the net depreciated value.
 - b) Include all assets that may have been fully depreciated, written off, or charged to expense but are still owned. Do not include disposed assets.
- Reports are to be filed on an assessment year basis of October 1.
 Acquisitions between October 2 and December 31 apply to the new year. (i.e. acquisition made October 30, 2022 is reported in the year ending October 1, 2023).
- Computerized filings are acceptable as long as all information is reported in prescribed format.
- Do not include disposed assets. Disposals are used to reconcile last year's reporting with this year's reporting.

List or Acco	ount#:							Assessme	nt date Oc	tober 1, 2023
Owner's Na	ame:							Required return	date Nove	mber 1, 2023
	ehicles Unregiste nnecticut but regi				CGS 12-8	nufacturing machinery 31 (76) (MM&E) for ex on DECD EZ M47 forr	emption a	nent not eligible under	As	sessor's
	VEHICLE 1	VEHIC	CLE 2	VEHICLE 3	Year	Original cost, installatio	n %	Depreciated Value	U	se Only
Year					Ending	& transportation	Good	Depreciated value		
Make					10-1-23		95%			
Model					10-1-22		90%			
VIN					10-1-21		80%			
Length					10-1-20		70%			
Weight					10-1-19		60%			
Purchase \$ Date					10-1-18		50% 40%			
Date					10-1-17 Prior Yrs		30%		# 9	
Value					Total		Total		#10	
	and Davis					on an analytic field in an American	1		#10	
#11 – Horses	I.		•	#2		mmercial Fishing App	l l			
Breed	#1	#2	2	#3	Year Ending	Original cost, installatio & transportation	n % Good	Depreciated Value		
Registered					10-1-23		95%			
Age					10-1-22		90%			
Sex					10-1-21		80%			
Quality					10-1-20 10-1-19		70%			
Breeding Show					10-1-19		60% 50%			
Pleasure					10-1-16		40%			
Racing					Prior Yrs		30%		#11	
Value					Total		Total		#12	
#13 – Manufa	cturing machinery	/ & equip	ment e	ligible under	#14 – Mo	bile Manufactured Ho	mes if not	currently assessed		
Ending 10-1-23 10-1-22 10-1-21 10-1-20 10-1-19 10-1-18 10-1-17 Prior Yrs Total #16 - Furniture Year Ending 10-1-23 10-1-23 10-1-22 10-1-21 10-1-20 10-1-19 10-1-18 10-1-17 Prior Yrs Total	e, fixtures and eq	% Good 95% 90% 40% 30% 70% 60% 50% 40% 30% 70% 60% 50% 40% 30% 70% 60% 50% 40% 30% 70tal		eciated Value	Year Make Model ID Numbe Length Width Bedroom: Baths Value	S	#2	#3	#13 #14 #16	
	ginal cost, installation	%	Denre	eciated Value	#18 – Fai Year	Original cost, installatio		Depreciated Value		
	& transportation	Good	- JP/(Ending	& transportation	Good	20prodiatod value		
10-1-23 10-1-22		95% 90%			10-1-23 10-1-22		95% 90%			
10-1-22		80%			10-1-22		80%			
10-1-20		70%			10-1-20		70%			
10-1-19		60%			10-1-19		60%			
10-1-18		50%			10-1-18		50%			
10-1-17		40%			10-1-17		40%			
Prior Yrs		30%			Prior Yrs		30%		#17	
Total		Total			Total		Total		#18	

List or A	ccount#:						Assessme	ent date October	1, 2023
Owner's	Name:						Required return	date November	1, 2023
#19 – Med	chanics Tools			# 20 EI	ectronic data processing	g equipn	nent		
Year Ending	Original cost, installation & transportation	% Good	Depreciated Value	Ir	accordance with Sec				
10-1-23		95%			Computer	rs Only	ı		
10-1-22		90%		Year	Original cost, installation	%	Depreciated Value		
10-1-21		80%		Ending	& transportation	Good	•		
10-1-20		70% 60%		10-1-23 10-1-22		95%		_	
10-1-19 10-1-18		50%		10-1-22		80% 60%			
10-1-10		40%		10-1-21		40%		-	
Prior Yrs		30%		Prior Yrs		20%		#19	
Total		Total		Total		Total		#20	
logically a	communication comp dvanced –include pre				ecommunication compard-include previously cod				
with #21a					1	۱ ۵٬	1		
Year Ending	Original cost, installation & transportation	% Good	Depreciated Value	Year Ending	Original cost, installation & transportation	% Good	Depreciated Value	_	
10-1-23		95%		10-1-23		95%			
10-1-22		90%		10-1-22		80%		- 	
10-1-21 10-1-20		80% 70%		<u>10-1-21</u>		60% 40%		-	
10-1-20		60%		10-1-20 Prior Yrs		20%		_	
10-1-19		50%		Total		Total			
10-1-10		40%		lotai		Total			
Prior Yrs		30%		=					
Total		Total		_	21a and 21b	Total		#21	
#22 – Cal	oles, conduits, pipes,	Class I I	Renewables, etc.	# 23 - Fx	pensed Supplies				
Year	Original cost, installation	%			age is the total amount e	expende	d on supplies since		
Ending	& transportation	Good	Depreciated Value		1, 2022 divided by the nu				
10-1-23				since Oct	tober 1, 2022.				
10-1-22				Year	Total Expended	# of	Average Monthly		
10-1-21				Ending		Months	7 troidge meiling		
10-1-20				10-1-23				_	
10-1-19									
10-1-18				_					
10-1-17 Prior Yrs									
Total		Total		_				#22	
,	nere if a FERC or PUI		ulated utility	1				#23	
	her Goods - including		-	#24b R	tental Entertainment Med	dium			
Year	Original cost, installation	%		Year	Original cost, installation	%			
Ending	& transportation	Good	Depreciated Value	Ending	& transportation	Good	Depreciated Value		
10-1-23		95%		10-1-23		95%			
10-1-22		90%		10-1-22		80%		」 ┃	
10-1-21		80%		10-1-21		60%		4	
10-1-20		70%		10-1-20		40%		4	
10-1-19		60%		Prior Yrs		20%		_	
10-1-18		50%		Total		Total	" (D)(D :	_	
10-1-17		40%			# of video tapes		# of DVD movies		
Prior Yrs Total		30% Total		-	# of music CD's 24a and 24b	Total	# of video games	#24	
TOtal		Total			24a anu 24b	TOtal			
			RECONCILIATION	N OF FIXED	ASSETS				
	Accete	doclaro	d last October 1, 2022						
			last October 1, 2022*	_		-			
	•		e last October 1, 2022	+		-			
Ass			& over 10 years old **	-		-			
			year October 1, 2023			-			
			·						
	Amount of e	expense	d equipment last year			_			
		Ca	pitalization Threshold			-			
				*Comp	lete Detailed Listing of D	isposed	l Assets –page 4		Page 6
				·	** Assets Orig Value ≤	\$250 -	page 4		J - y

2023 PERSONAL PROPERTY DECLARATION — SUMMARY SHEET Commercial and financial information is not open to public inspection.

ist or Account#:	Re			vember 1, 2023
Owner's Name:		roperty Declarat		
DBA:		elivered or postr esday, Novembe		
		onroe Assessor		
Mailing address:	<u> </u>			
City/State/Zip:	_			Assessor's
Location (street & number)		Not Downsoisted		USE ONLY
Property Code and Description		Net Depreciated Value pages 5 & 6	Code	ASSESSMENTS
#9 Motor Vehicles UNREGISTERED motor vehicles (e.g. campers, RV's, snowmobiles, trailers, truc tractors, off-road construction vehicles, etc.) including any vehicle garaged in Connecticut but registered is such vehicle not registered at all. If you are a farmer eligible for the exemption under Sec. 12-91, list tract	n another state, or any		#9	
#10 - Machinery & Equipment Industrial manufacturing machinery and equipment (e.g., tools, dies, Include air and water pollution control equipment.	jigs, patterns, etc.).		#10	
#11 Horses And Ponies Describe your horses and ponies. A \$1,000 assessment exemption per ani are a farmer, the exemption may be 100% provided Form M-28 is filed with and approved by the Assess			#11	
#12 - Commercial Fishing Apparatus All fishing apparatus exclusively used by a commercial fisher (e.g., fishing poles, nets, lobster pots, fish finders, etc.). A \$500 value exemption will be applied.			#12	
#13 -Manufacturing machinery & equipment Manufacturing machinery and equipment used in			#12	
research or engineering devoted to manufacturing; or used for the significant servicing or overhauling of i factory products and eligible for exemption under CGS 12-81 (76). (Formerly property Codes 13 & 15)	ndustrial machinery or		#13	
#14 Mobile Manufactured Homes if not currently assessed as real estate			#14	
#16 - Furniture & Fixtures Furniture, fixtures and equipment of all commercial, industrial, manufacture and all other businesses, occupations and professions. Examples: desks, chairs, tables, file cabinets, topy machines, telephones (including mobile telephones), telephone answering machines, facsimile maccash registers, moveable air conditioners, partitions, shelving display racks, refrigerators, freezers, kitche	ypewriters, calculators, chines, postage meters,		#16	
#17 - Farm Machinery Farm machinery (e.g., tractors, harrows, bush hogs, hay bines, hay rakes, bal milking machines, milk tanks, coolers, chuck wagons, dozers, back hoes, hydroponic farm equipment, acetc.), used in the operation of a farm.			#17	
#18 - Farming Tools Farm tools (e.g., hoes, rakes, pitch forks, shovels, hoses, brooms, etc.).			#18	
#19 - Mechanics Tools Mechanics tools (e.g., wrenches, air hammers, jacks, sockets, etc.).			#19	
#20 - Electronic Data Processing Equipment Electronic data processing equipment (e.g., compcomputer equipment, and any computer based equipment acting as a computer as defined under Section 1986, etc.). Bundled software is taxable and must be included.			#20	
#21 - Telecommunications Equipment Excluding furniture, fixtures, and computers, #21a includes antennae, batteries, generators or any equipment not deemed technologically advanced by the Assessor controllers, control frames, relays switching and processing equipment or other equipment deemed technologically advanced by the Assessor.	. #21b includes		#21	
#22 - Cables, conduits, pipes, poles, towers (if not currently assessed as real estate), underg	round mains, wires,			
turbines, Class I Renewables, Cylinder and other Tanks of gas, heating, or energy producing companies, water and water power companies. Include items annexed to the ground (e.g., hydraulic car lanks, pumps, truck scales, etc.), as well as property used for the purpose of creating or furnishing a supportations).	companies, telephone ifts, gasoline holding		#22	
#23 - Expensed Supplies The average monthly quantity of supplies normally consumed in the cours stationery, post-it notes, toner, computer disks, computer paper, pens, pencils, rulers, staplers, paper clip supplies and maintenance supplies, etc.).			#23	
#24 – Other All Other Goods, Chattels and Effects Any other taxable personal property not previous does not appear to fit into any of the other categories. (e.g., video tapes, vending machines, pinball game billboards, coffee makers, water coolers, leasehold improvements and construction in progress (CIP	es, video games, signs,		#24	
Total Net Depreciated and Assessment – all codes #9 through #24	Subtotal >			
#25 – Penalty for failure to file as required by statute – 25% of assessment			#25	
Exemption - Check box adjacent to the exemption you are claiming:			0	
☐ I – Farming Tools - \$500 value ☐ I – Horses/ponies \$1000 assessment per anim		ools - \$500 value		
All of the following exemptions require a separate application and/or certificate to be filed with				
G & H - Distressed Municipality/Enterprise Zone/Enterprise Corridor Zone - Exemp		equired annually		
☐ I – Farm Machinery \$100,000 assessment - Exemption application M-28 required	annually			
☐ J − Class I Renewable - Exemption Application M-44 required.				
J - Water Pollution or Air Pollution control equipment – Connecticut DEEP certificat		ру		
U - Manufacturing Machinery & Equipment Claim Form - Exemption claim required				
Asse	essor's Final Asse	ssment Total >		

List or Account#: Owner's Name:	

Assessment date October 1, 2023 Required return date November 1, 2023

DECLARATION OF PERSONAL PROPERTY A THIS FORM MUST BE SIGNED (AND IN SOME CASES WITNESSED) BEFORE IT MAY BE	
AVOID PENALTY – IMPROPERLY SIGNED DECLARATIONS REQU COMPLETE SECTION A OR SECTION B	IRE A 25% PENALTY
Section A	
OWNER I DO HEREBY declare under penalty of false statement that all s completed according to the best of my knowledge, remembrance, and believersonal property liable to taxation; and that I have not conveyed or tempourpose of evading the laws relating to the assessment and collection of taxes SEE PAGE TWO (2) FOR SIGNATURE REQUIRE CHECK ONE OWNER PARTNER	ef; that it is a true statement of all my orarily disposed of any estate for the es as per §12-49 C.G.S.
☐ CORPORATE OFFICER ☐ MEMBER	
Signature	Dated
Signature/Title	
Print or type name	
Section B	
AGENT I DO HEREBY declare under oath that I have been duly appointed agent for the have full authority and knowledge sufficient to file a proper declaration for him in accord w	
Agent's Signature	Dated
Agent's Signature /Title	
Print or type agent's name	
AGENT SIGNATURE MUST BE WITNESSE	:D
Witness of agent's sworn statement Subscribed and sworn to before me	Dated
•	
Circle one: Assessor or staff member, Town Clerk, Justice of the Peace, Notary or Com Court	missioner of Superior
	Check Off List:
Direct questions concerning declaration to the Monroe Assessor's Office:	☐ Read instructions on page 2
	☐ Complete appropriate sections
Office: 203-452-2803	☐ Complete exemption applications
Email: assessor@monroect.gov	☐ Sign & date as required on page 8
	☐ Make a copy for your records
	☐ Return by November 1, 2023
es:	

This Personal Property Declaration must be signed above and delivered to the Assessor or postmarked (as defined in C.G.S. Sec 1-2a & as referenced in Sec. 12-41(d)) by Wednesday, November 1, 2023 to avoid the 25% Penalty required for failure to file.